Patricia Sonego, soprano

Patricia Sonego, soprano, (www.patriciasonego.com) made her operatic debut in New York City in the world premiere of American composer Jack Beeson's Sorry, wrong number with the Center for Contemporary Opera under the baton of Richard Marshall, for which she received an enthusiastic review from Robert Prag of Opera News. The performance was recorded for Albany Records and released in May 2008.

A champion of contemporary, avant garde, improvisational, and electroacoustic music, Ms. Sonego is in demand to premiere new works, many of which have been composed for her. In a new arrangement dedicated to her by the composer Terry Winter Owens, she gave the world premiere of Messages for Raoul Wallenberg at Carnegie Hall, Weill Recital Hall, with Alaria chamber ensemble. For the third consecutive year Patricia has been invited to perform at the ACA Festival of American Music. In 2007, she premiered songs by Michael Rothkopf for soprano and live computer playback and songs by Raoul Pleskow with piano. She also performed Harold Seletsky’s chamber work, Apathy. Award-winning ACA composer John Melby first became acquainted with Patricia when she stepped in last minute to perform his Wordsworth Songs for soprano and computer in 2006. This year she is honored to be giving the world premiere of In Darkness, a work for soprano and computer written expressly for her by Melby.

Patricia also performs regularly with the ensemble Le Nuove Musiche, having recently returned from an engagement at the medieval Castillo de Jesus Nazareno in Almeria, Spain, where she performed works from the early Baroque. Patricia is the co-founder and Artistic Director of Reizen Ensemble (www.reizenensemble.com), a new music group that performs cutting edge and accessible newly composed works for soprano and chamber ensemble by both emerging and established composers from around the globe. She is also the founder and managing director of Joy of New Music, Inc., an organization dedicated to the composition, promotion, and performance of new music (www.JoyofNewMusic.com).

No comments: